Trans-Jura Conference

Countries: France , Switzerland
Regions concerned: France – Franche-Comté region; Switzerland – Cantons of Bern, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura

The Trans-Jura Conference (CTJ – Conférence TransJurassienne) is a body for political concertation, established in 2001. It brings together the Region, Prefecture and Departments of Franche-Comté, and the Cantons of Bern, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura. Its role is to deliberate on, provide impetus for and support cross-border projects undertaken within its territory.

The CTJ covers the territory of the Jura Arc and many fields of activity in accordance with the respective powers (or ‘competences’) of its members. Its purpose is to bolster cooperation and coordination between the political and administrative institutions on either side of the border.

Since 2005 the CTJ has been playing a more structuring role, coordinating initiatives and functioning as a platform for discussion. Its priorities are centred on economic development, transport, vocational education and training and sustainable development.