Border: France-Spain-Andorra

Border: France-Spain-Andorra

The Interreg VA POCTEFA programme

The cross-border operational programme “Spain - France - Andorra” (Programme opérationnel de coopération territoriale Espagne - France - Andorre – POCTEFA) for 2014-2020 brings together the territories of :

  • France:
    - department of Pyrénées-Atlantiques
    - department of Ariège
    - department of Haute-Garonne
    - department of Hautes Pyrénées
    - department of Pyrénées Orientales
  • Spain:
    - the Autonomous Community of the Basque Country (Alava, Bizkaia and Gipuzkoa provinces)
    - community of Rioja (the province corresponding to the community), community of Navarre (the province corresponding to the community)
    - Aragon community (provinces of, Huesca, Zaragoza and Teruel),
    - Catalonia community (provinces of Barcelona, Girona, Lerida and Tarragona)
  • Principality of Andorra.

The programme’s managing authority is the Consorcio of the Working Community of the Pyrenees, a structure which operates under Spanish public law and which is based in Jaca (Aragon). The national authority for France is the Aquitaine Region, which was the managing authority for the 2000-2006 period. The technical secretariat is part of the Consorcio. The managing authority is assisted in carrying out its tasks by three territorial bodies, each of which has a territorial committee responsible for assessing projects. The joint technical secretariat is responsible for coordinating the three territorial bodies, which cover Catalonia (the eastern part), Aragon (the central part) and the Pyrénées-Atlantiques (the western part).

The programme was approved on May 19, 2015 with a total FEDER funding of €189 million (12% increase compared to the 2007-2013 programme).

The programme is made up of five lines:
- boosting innovation and competitiveness;
- promoting the adaptation to climate change and risks prevention and management;
- promoting the protection, improvement, and sustainable use of local resources
- promoting the mobility of goods and people
- strengthening skills and inclusion within territories.

POCTEFA finances two types of project: local projects (monitored by the territorial committees) and programme-wide projects (with no obligation of territorial continuity). For all projects, there is a minimum threshold of €80,000 for the total budget of an operation.