Creation of a new Franco-Spanish EGTC: "Pirineos-Pyrénées"

April 2018

Creation of a new Franco-Spanish EGTC: "Pirineos-Pyrénées"

A new European Grouping of Cross-Border Cooperation (EGTC) was set up on 13 March 2018. Called "Pirineos-Pyrénées" ("Pyrenees" in Spanish and French), it groups together the main territorial authorities of the centre of the Pyrenees mountain range: the Diputación de Huesca, the Hautes-Pyrénées and Pyrénées-Atlantiques Departments and the Government of Aragon.

It merges into a single structure the already existing bodies: the Aragnouet-Bielsa Tunnel and the two Huesca-Pirineos-Hautes-Pyrénées EGTCs and the Pourtalet Pass EGTC.

As Michel Pélieu, President of the Hautes-Pyrénées Department emphasised when the joint declaration for the creation of the grouping was signed: "Together, our territories constitute a large and beautiful tourist destination that will give us an international dimension and put the 'Pyrenees' brand on the map." The tool is also aimed at joint management and development of cross-border infrastructures.

More info

Back to list