Network of Cities of the Upper Rhine

Countries: Germany , France , Switzerland


The Network of Cities of the Upper Rhine is an informal association of partners including the German cities of Baden-Baden, Freiburg, Karlsruhe, Offenburg, Lahr and Lörrach, the French cities of Colmar, Landau, Mulhouse and Strasbourg, as well as the Basel tri-national conurbation. Political governance is ensured by regular meetings between mayors or their representatives. Coordination at the administrative level is organized around a group of experts composed of representatives of each city.

Contributing to the attractiveness and dynamics of the "Tri-national Metropolitan Region of the Upper Rhine," the Network of Cities seeks to develop a specific profile on the basis of strategic principles and the promotion of joint initiatives and priorities within the metropolitan area.