Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion

Countries: Spain , France
Regions concerned: Occitania Region (France); Catalonia, Balearic Islands (Spain), (and Aragon up to 2006)

The Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion is a political cooperation project that began in 2004, after being first established in 1991. It aims to create a "hub of sustainable development based on innovation, social and territorial cohesion" between the regions of Catalonia, the Balearic Islands, and Occitania, which share a strong economic potential as well as a common language.

In 2009 the Euroregion took the form of an EGTC, seeking to increase the visibility of its activities at the local and European levels. It is with this aim that several projects have been initiated, notably in the fields of economic development, research and innovation, and culture. Among the territory’s flagship projects is the creation of the "Pyrenees-Mediterranean Eurocampus", a cross-border research and innovation hub.

In June 2017, a strategy paper was adopted, encouraging “a creative, sustainable and inclusive Euroregion by 2020”. It is based on several key concepts:
-    project the Euroregion onto the Euro-regional, state and international scenes
-    accelerate the creation and implementation of strategic infrastructures required for the sustainable development of the territory
-    promote economic sectors of common interest and with high added value
-    develop universities and scientific organizations
-    promote citizen involvement in the Euroregion
-    address specific cross-border issues
-    be a benchmark in the western Mediterranean region