Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion

Countries: Spain , France
Regions concerned: France – Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées; Spain – Catalonia, Balearic Islands, and formerly, Aragon (up to 2006)

The Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion is a political cooperation project that began in 2004, after being first established in 1991. It aims to create a "hub of sustainable development based on innovation and social and territorial cohesion," between the regions of Catalonia, the Balearic Islands, Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon, which share a strong economic potential as well as a common language.

In 2009 the Euroregion took the form of an EGTC, and seeks to increase the visibility of its activities at the local and European levels. It is with this aim that several projects have been initiated, notably in the fields of economic development, research and innovation, and culture. Among the flagship projects of the territory is the creation of the Pyrenees-Mediterranean Eurocampus, a cross-border centre for research and innovation.