Cross-border Euroregional Strategies for economic development and innovation

Countries: France, Spain
Border(s): France-Spain-Andorra,
Nouvelle Aquitaine-Euskadi-Navarre Euroregion, Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion,
- Cross-border economic development
- Research and innovation

Lead partner: Eurorégion Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Eurorégion Aquitaine-Euskadi

The Euroregions are an important level for the formulation of cross-border strategies for economic development.
In 2014, the Pyrenees-Mediterranean Euroregion, which is made up of the Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon Regions and the Autonomous Communities of Catalonia and the Balearic Islands, put in place a Euroregional Innovation Strategy for three priority sectors (water, e-health and agri-food) and a cross-cutting area (tourism). The objective of this strategy is to encourage Euroregional collaboration in the cooperation between public-sector and economic players in the four member regions.
In 2014, the Aquitaine-Euskadi Euroregion drew up a Strategic Plan for 2014-2020 which identifies the development priorities for the territory. This multi-thematic document also deals with the economy and innovation.

Project goals

Formulation of Euroregional strategies with a dimension linked to cross-border economic development.

More information on the project factsheet from the handbook “Cross-Border economic development”, MOT 2015.